Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Man of a Thousand Faces

I realize that some of you may be wondering about the jump in dates from my last post to today's...all I can say is, with my best Jedi voice and a wave of my hand, "There is no week missing from this blog."

It was a long week. Let's just leave it at that.

I'm tired. So very, very tired. Last night the kaschew didn't finally fall asleep until 11:30pm. I was in bed by midnight...and up by 5am. It's been this same nightly routine for weeks on end. Day. After day. After day...

I missed all the shooting stars this month, which is probably why my fairy godmother hasn't come down to grant my wish of having a relative take the boys for at least the weekend (Friday through Sunday night) so that I can recharge my batteries. I think if I could just have that, those 3 little days to take care of myself, I might just be able to climb back up my patience and sanity rope, the frayed ends of which I let slip from my fingers weeks ago. How does anyone expect a mother to be on ALL the time if she NEVER has any time to herself. I don't know how my mum did it. I wish she were here to tell me...or at least a phone call away. I'm quite lonely without her.

I know generally people always refer to having many things to do as wearing multiple hats, but I feel like I have a million faces to wear.
One for my boys.
One for my husband.
One for my mother-in-law.
One for her assistant.
One for my father-in-law.
One for my siblings-in-law.
One for my dad.
One for my sisters.
One for my customers.
One for my friends.
One for my hairdresser.
One for my son's school employees.
One for my chiro office.
One for my post.
One for my grocer.
One for my church family.
One for my...one for my...one for my...

I don't feel like I'm being dishonest, but giving my best self as each one needs it. It's different for each person. The problem is, as I think befalls all women, mums or not, that I've not had time to give a piece of my best self to perhaps the person who needs it most...me. As a result, I'm feeling fractured, fragmented and a bit like the world is spinning by me and I can't get a tight enough grip to hold on for the ride. The past couple weeks I've become sharp and irritated, and it's hit an apex. (And for all you male readers, no, it's not PMS. It's not even "that time" right now. Consider yourselves smacked for thinking it.)

I've tried to grab a few moments of refuge whenever they show the shadow of appearing. For a while I was lying down with my 3yr old for his nap on my bed. He'd snuggle up close and I would find shelter from the stresses of daily life in reading Anne Morrow Lindbergh's Gift from the Sea. It brought a peace that I haven't felt in a long, long time. But recently, I can't even stay awake to do that. I lie down for my son's nap and inevitably fall asleep before he does! My secondary, and equally lovely, solace has been my evening walks with my youngest. Although at first I found an evening walk EVERY evening a bit inconvenient (not to mention a bit scary when it's dark out!), I've found that it's given my soul a resting place as the day comes to a close. There's something soothing walking at what my husband constantly refers to as a snail's pace (often saying I'm walking so slowly I'm moving backwards), even in the heat of the evening, with the crickets chirping, the bullfrogs crooning, the ducks calling, even the 8,647,232 mosquitoes buzzing...with the interchanging song of a sucking thumb and babbling baby. Even with the mosquitoes chasing my O+ meal, I'm still compelled, each walk, to pause halfway around the lake...to listen to the ducks chatter, to watch the blue heron spread his enormous wings and float off over the shadow trees, to watch the last few strands of light slip down the horizon as the fingers of night inch upward from the east pulling a blanket of stars over this small corner of the world as we tuck our children and ourselves into bed.

I've always enjoyed sunsets, the fire that's lit on the western horizon as the sun moves to warm a new inch of earth. I love the golden sunsets that give big, fluffy clouds the look of gilded nuggets harvested from gold rich plots. I love the fiery red sunsets that make the sky look like the depths of a roaring furnace. I love the intense pink and purple sunsets that artists have passionately sought to capture for centuries. I love watching the daylight blue of the sky slowly change depth to the sleepy midnight blue of evening.

But what I love most is what has been there all along, that I've never noticed until tonight...the rainbow. If you've ever taken the time to really watch the sunset, you know what I'm talking about. It doesn't last for long, but it's there, every evening, every sunset. For a few short moments, before the sun drains the last few colors of the day from the sky, the rainbow is there in all its glory. Red on the horizon, followed northerly by orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet, all melting into that deep bedtime blue spattered with stars. It reminded me of Noah, how after all the tumult of his day, how when the boat finally came to rest and he looked out he saw the rainbow, God's promise. Is there a more perfect way to end your day than to be reminded of God's promise, despite rough seas or smooth sailing?

I highly recommend you put down all of your hats, all of your faces, whatever it is you juggle daily. Take the half hour for yourself. Watch the sunset. Be heartened.

Friday, August 20, 2010

Tick Tock on the Clock But the Party Don't Stop


My brain is screaming...WHY ARE YOU STILL UP?! But my body's just not ready for bed. Being a night owl is a huge curse when there's no one still awake to talk to. It's not even that it's that late...oh to know people around here so that I could go out while my husband sleeps. Yes, it's 10:40pm on a Friday night and he is in bed. In fact, he's been in bed since about 9:15pm. Meanwhile, here I am all alone wide awake and ready to take on the night, argh. Not to mention Season 4 of Dexter is burning a whole in my purse. Must. Resist. Urge. To watch...

I'd go for a run, but I don't have shoes (yet) and I've had too many creepy things happen to me to go running alone at night. Now it would be a different story if I had my conceal/carry and I actually lived in a conceal/carry state. (Get with the program Illinois! You're not doing your residents any favors!)

I'd head out solo, but we all know how that's ended for me before...at least in Chicago and Paris. And, well, those of you that don't know...let's just say the nights were never dull but maybe a bit too interesting. Thank God the young and stupid stage is brief!

Instead I'm sitting here at home trying to type as quietly as possible so as not to disturb sleeping beau behind me and listening to some insane guitar riffs....which brings me to my next random point. I need to find someone with the patience to teach me guitar. I was planning on hitting up my brother-in-law, but seeing as he's now a newlywed and most likely moving to the west coast before this year is up, that's out. It's not that I don't know plenty of musicians who would take the time...it's just more that they've got more productive things to do...like writing music...and touring. If you know of anyone willing to take on this poor charity case, send their info my way...and vice versa...I'm a wicked cook and baker so those holding the "will teach for food" signs please move to the front of the line.

Currently playing: Crestfallen by Avantasia...this is new to me...I think I'm in love...

Annnnnnnnnnnd now the husband is stirring...I wish that meant it was time to watch Dexter.

So.....my day today....day today...day today....hmmm, a pretty standard Friday, except for wishing it was Tuesday so that I'd have 3 more days of chiro crackin' good time ahead. I must be mental, eh? My body, generally, feels fantastic after my appointments, but it seems that the moment I get to day #4, which means no appointment, everything hurts...especially my lower back and neck. At least the headaches haven't started...yet...right???

Ok, so the topper to my day? (I mean obviously besides getting Season 4 of Dexter....did I mention I got Season 4 of Dexter today?!?!?!!) We were putting our 18 month old to bed with the help of our 3 year old. He helped us change his brother's diaper. He sat quietly while we got out the picture book of the hymn we sing every night, and the picture book of the Lord's Prayer. He sat quietly while we started singing and while I showed the boys the pictures. And then it happened. Mid-song. "Mommy, mommy can I take it? Mommy can I take it please?" I hand the book over to Zelig thinking he wants to turn the pages as we sing and show Kasch the pictures. Instead, he takes the book from me and starts singing his little heart out, word for word, turning the pages at the right time as we go. I couldn't help it, honestly. I was a wreck. Sobbing while I sung. Listening and memorizing and cherishing that sweet little voice singing the song God put in his heart. My mum would have been so proud. I'm certain she heard him. And I'm certain she smiled. My husband and I both exchanged several tear-filled looks. With all the screaming and tantrums and general crazy little boy behavior, it's so easy to forget what an angelic little singing voice he has. I finally pulled myself together, I thought, to go through the Lord's Prayer picture book we end the evening with...but again I started sobbing. I didn't used to cry this easily before, but tonight I had an epiphany as to why I do now...but that's a downer of a blog for another time. Right now, I just want to revel in the memory of my sweet little blessing singing his heart out for his little brother and God. Mum, if you're watching, the natural musical talent that is a common thread throughout our family lives on :)

Ending this entry with Hammerfall's At the End of the Rainbow...another new band and song...love, love, LOVE! Thank goodness for Pandora!




Thursday, August 19, 2010

If I Kiss You Where It's Sore, Will You Feel Better?

Oh Thursday, how you mock me! "One more day until the weekend!" you say, "Yipee!" While under your breath you mutter the painful reality that my chiro weekend has come to a close. That means 4 long days until Dr. Travis puts one hand on my forehead, a foot on the back of my underwear, pushes my spine away with a broom handle and shoots me across the room (thanks Eddie, lol) like a flying squirrel.

Today was epic.

Let's start at the beginning.

Up at 3am with the littlest one. *sob* Got him back down by 4am.

Husband to train by 5:15am. *sniffle*

I made the insane mistake of trying to catch a little more sleep after I got home and before the kids woke up. Zelig came in at 6:15am. *whimper* It was like trying to wake up after a f-u-n night with friends....you know what I mean. OMGOMGOMG! After 5 or so minutes the world finally stopped spinning and my senses started to wake up and work. I got the boys up, dressed and fed, although I never got around to feeding myself. C'est la vie d'une maman. I began to clean. And clean. And clean. It didn't matter in the end. Nothing ever looked picked up. Of. Course. At 1pm I put the Kaschew down for a nap and put Zelig in my bed. I didn't have time to lay down with him to get him to fall asleep, so the hour from 1-2pm consisted of me saying, "Zelig lie down. Zelig put your head on the pillow. PUT. YOUR. HEAD. ON. THE. PILLOW. Stop talking. STOP talking. S-T-O-P talking. Close your eyes. Your eyes. Your E-Y-E-S. Zelig lie down. Get back on the bed and lie down. Lie down. D-O-W-N." Aaaaaaaaaaand repeat. All while preparing packages to send out for my husband. He never did take a nap. And neither did his brother. Both talked the entire time, and Zelig even slipped by me and went downstairs to play...so I naturally gave up because I was in a time crunch to get to the post, then home to gather all their necessaries for minimal insanity at the chiropractor, and them of course, and then out to the train station to get Daddy and then off to our appointments.

So, the post. What can I say about the post. Let me start with something nice. Ummmmm, well, it's close. That's nice. The parking's decent. They have a/c. They didn't have a line this time...well, not a huge one...at least when I got there...only 3 people in front of me (including the one at the desk). But, why, oh WHY Frankfort post must you ALWAYS ONLY have one window open? WHYYYYYYYYY? Today it was the only male I've ever seen at that post working window. What's that you ask? Why yes, he was moving at the speed of...what?...what speed?! If he and a rock raced each other in an uphill 10m dash, the rock would win hands down. And in case you were wondering...yup!...that same token postal worker that popped out to the lobby area every 10 minutes or so to see if anyone was just picking up or dropping off post from the other day made her appearance again today...as the line grew...and grew.

Now, what I really enjoyed about my trip to the post today was not the same brutally slow routine I experience each time I'm there. I know that's a big shock. Rather, it was the gentleman two people behind me in line that beamed when token postal worker popped out to ask about drop off/pick up post and he actually fit in to that category. He skillfully slithered under the dividing rope showcasing his best luau limbo skills and held up a card that had been left by his postman that day for the popper postal worker to take. He then turned around and blushed apologetically conveying his condolences for being lucky enough to move to the head of the class. What happened next I can only guess could be categorized as an epic fail. With a room full of covetous eyes on him, the postal worker returned with his card and informed him that his postman had noted that the package would be available for pickup....tomorrow. HA! I guarantee you every soul in that static line felt vindicated. He tried to recover by telling her that his postman told him he could just come in today and pick it up...but...do you know where I'm going to go with this?....take a second....if his postman had told him, why wouldn't he have just given him the package?! He left looking dejected, eyes on the ground, cheeks pink. Epic. Fail.

After the post I dashed home and ran around collecting toys, diapers, underwear, wipes, food and children. All were thrown into the car and we left to get Daddy. We were running a bit late....thank GOD for my trusty little radar detector...there's no other way to get through Mokena going 60mph...shhh, don't tell anyone ;)

The chiropractor was a welcome relief from a non-stop day. After running around the house, pulling a muscle in my side, beating my head on the counter at the post and trying to get from A to B in one piece and on time, my spine probably looked more like a connect the dots puzzle from the stress than anything that could support a person. I was more than eager for my turn on the table and Dr. Trav's ability to turn me into a rice krispie. Before surrendering myself I let him know my headaches returned in full force. I'm telling you, you can't even begin to fathom my dismay when he told me it was normal to have relapses. Oh dear Father in heaven...nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. I'm quite sure a piece of me died when he said that, and it must have shown on my face. I slid onto the table and began the focused effort of relaxing my body so that he wouldn't have to crank on it multiple times to get things to move. Sacrum relocation...ahhhh. So love it! Neck adjustment...progressively more tolerable. It's not that it's uncomfortable...it's just that the movement and pressure on my neck and my face against the hole in the table headrest ring so closely to what I can only imagine birth is like for the infant. I'm pretty certain that one of these days he's going to end up jamming my head through the hole in the headrest, and I'll be the moron on the 6 'o clock news with the chiropractic table around my neck, the fire department using the jaws of life to cut me out. My side adjustments were exceptionally easier than before, even with my severely strained muscle. The towel-back-roll-look-I'm-a-butterfly adjustment...oh my...could we just do that 8 or 10 times over? And then lastly the owl adjustment (yes, that's my nickname for it now), my least favorite, but evidently necessary snap, crackle and pop. It ended up being more comfortable than in the past, thank goodness. Then, THEN came the surprise...sweet mother Mary and Joseph! Neck *gasp* massage *sigh*. Yup, lucky lil' me got a surprise impromptu neck massage to help with the headaches. I'm pretty sure I almost melted off the table it felt so good. Oh Dr. Travis, I promise your basement office in our home in St. Louis will be a thing dreams are made of -- you'll never regret being chiropractor-napped ;)

As fabulous as that all was, I have to say the highlight of my day, and one of the top highlights of my life, was yet to come. I asked Dr. Travis a couple questions I'd been thinking about before the adjustments, but my husband and I both knew there was another one that was burning in me...I just couldn't remember it. After several of my post-adjustment therapies, during the stair stepping actually, it dawned on me...probably more out of pain than anything else. I finished up and hopped of and made sure to wait until his mouth was full of peanut butter and banana before asking his thoughts on using an unloader brace so that I could start working out harder, running and playing sports again, while still working on strengthening the muscles around my knee when I'm not doing those things. One little question turned into a barrage, unfortunately for him, but by the end I was bouncing off the walls inside myself. I finally got real answers about my knee injury and how to re-strengthen myself and meet my strength, sports and weight loss goals. My EX-orthopedic surgeon had told me that if I didn't want to get surgery than I shouldn't come back to see him if I could manage the pain on my own. He also told me I could never do squats again. Let me tell you, that is completely devastating to hear as an athlete and especially as a mom of 2 kids. I've spent months on end trying to figure out how I could possibly get my legs and butt back in shape if I can't incorporate squats. It's my hardest area to control and my most effective exercise was pulled out from under me. My physical therapist told me that I could just do "mini" squats, i.e. squatting a quarter of the way, just doing more reps. I tried it and quit as I found my knee to be worse off after those than full squats. And then Dr. Travis, in all his glory, all his education, all his training, all his endless kindness took the time out of his day, at the very end of his day when I'm sure he wanted to be anywhere but at the office still, to answer my completely un-chiropractic-related questions. God bless Dr. Travis, truly. He talked to me about different factors that come in to play in knee injuries. He even got me back on the table and checked the range of motion on both knees and palpated my legs for contributing issues. He showed me how to use the "whoopin' stick" to work out some of the issues. He told me that I absolutely could do squats and should do squats...and full squats to boot...because it engages and strengthens all the muscles around the knee and in the leg and butt when done properly. He even showed me the proper technique...and I couldn't believe the football coach had been teaching us wrong for years. (I even went home and showed my mother-in-law the closest thing I could to the proper technique and there was such minimal pain!) I'm sure he'll never know, but that day he did something for me that no other doctor or therapist or coach has been able to since my injury in the spring of 1999...he gently picked up those little pieces of my heart that had been devastated and crushed from when my injury happened through every consultation, every doctor, every therapist I've talked to and cleaned them off and so carefully put them back in place where they belong so that I can start healing. I actually cried tonight thinking about his kindness and what he said to me. I've had this part of me that has been so crushed for 11 and a half years that I would never be able to perform at my peak again, or even well. I lost my drive to work out and lift weights because although I can build upper body strength quickly and easily, I felt I would never be able to get my lower body strength anywhere near up to par based on what I'd been told. I left with the biggest high and my heart soaring. One little conversation with the right person and I feel like I have more energy and desire and motivation and strength than I've had in years. He'll never know, never really truly know what he's done, but he'll always be one of those names until my last breath that I remember...and that's saying something considering I couldn't even tell you who delivered my almost 4yr old.

I don't even know how long I was talking to him...much longer than I should have been I'm sure. I'm quite certain he and the techs wanted to hit the pavement. His patience and dedication and thoughtfulness and empathy seem limitless. He's truly a man of quality and strength of character and one of the few people I've know or met that have made such a solid and positive impression on me. I could sing his praises until I'm blue in the face, so I'll stop here....but hopefully you're getting the picture of how highly I think of him, and I hope that will motivate you to utilize him and his practice if you need it (or even if you think you don't).

Anyway, to continue the evening my husband had to remind me of our time crunch so that we (and the techs and clinic director) could get on our way. We zipped home and dropped the kids off before turning right around and heading out to Flossmoor for a new parent orientation at Flossmoor Montessori School. It was great to see Sarah in action. She's a natural at her job as head directress for her room, and I can't wait to see the growth in Zelig from his experiences in her classroom. I can't believe that school starts up next week...I mean, I'm definitely happy about it, but at the same time, the driving does eat a good chunk of time (2hrs total) for just 3hrs of schooling a day. It's worth it, it's worth it, it's worth it.

We got home from the FMS meeting around 8:30pm and Zach headed straight to bed. I talked with his mom a while and then spent time with a screaming 18 month old for an hour trying to get him calm and back to sleep. Now that he's down, of course I'm blogging instead of sleeping, but since we're creeping up on midnight and I have to be up at 4:30am I'm gonna log off and check out for the night.

Although, I've got to say, as utterly exhausted as I am, it's going to be hard to fall asleep with all the questions I have running through my head for Dr. Travis and the ultimate high I'm on from our brief conversation.....

Sweet, sweet dreams in store :)


Wednesday, August 18, 2010

One More Time With Feeling

Can I just say how NOT used to getting up at the inner sphincter of dawn I am? I was pretty sure up until this point that it was a flat out crime to get up before 7am...of course before that I would have sworn on my life that any time before 11am or noon was grossly early too. I'm finding it may be useless to hold my breath for the sleep police to come and guide me back to my comfortable, snuggly bed before I get too far into committing the heinous crime of getting up before the birds. If God doesn't want the sun to rise before 5-something, why on earth should I have to get up before then? *sigh* This new schedule is killing me. I thought it was hard getting my husband on the 5:40am train...the 5:18am is like open heart surgery without any anesthesia. Ok, slight exaggeration perhaps, but SERIOUSLY, for a night owl and sleep's #1 FAN, it's quite painful.

I know I look a mess taking him to the train. I literally roll out of bed, throw on shorts and stumble to the kitchen to make his breakfast and lunch. It's then a mad dash to the car, for which I'm generally shoe-less because I'm still trying to get my eyes to focus. My hair is a wild bird's nest, and I'm breathing flames. Yup, folks, I'm a picture of Mt. Olympus perfection at 4:45am. I wonder if I'll get used to this, or if it will always seem so terrible.

My husband doesn't seem to mind that I look the epitome of death warmed over. He seems to love the dragon side of me just the same. In fact tonight he was on his way to bed (yes, he's leagues smarter than me and actually goes to bed early because of having to get up at such a ridiculous hour...but what's a girl of the night to do...not that kind of girl of the night...gah, seriously, some people!) when I came in to say goodnight. The following is a brief summary of our conversation:

Me: "Hey, you going to bed already?"
Z: "Yeah, I have to get up early, remember?"
Me: "Well, yeah, me too...remember? :-P Well I'll just say goodnight now then."
Z: "Aren't you coming to bed soon?"
Me: "Yes, but I have to wash my face."
Z: "Well we can say goodnight after you're done."
Me: "But I'm all make up-ed and pretty right now. After I wash it all off I'll look like a dragon."
Z: "But you're my dragon."
(for a second I actually thought that comment was cute...)
Me: "I love how you don't deny what I say and insist I'm still pretty without make up but agree that I look like a dragon." (Yes, I laughed.)
Z: "But I said you're my dragon!"

I know, somewhere in his head that wacked out logic is supposed to work and be cute and sweet. Yup kids, that's some magical marital romance there. *rolls eyes* I'm thinking I should just give up at this point, LOL.

That's all I've got tonight, sorry. Chiro was good...until the raging headache I got about 3 minutes after leaving *sniffle*, hence the short entry tonight. I think I need to find a chiropractor that I can page to pop me like a Christmas cracker every 4 hours. Ahhhh, that would be perfect!

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Chiropractor. A very powerful figure on the Scrabble board. Chiropractor. Ninety-three letters, chiropractor.


Tuesday, Tuesday, I LIVE for Tuesday! Tuesday, affectionately and privately known as "crack your bones" day, it's the day I surrender my spine to the hands of a strangely familiar face. Now, just a little background -- I'd've rather broken my leg again then lie on a table and have someone push around my bones while I was conscious. Just visiting the office with my husband made me nauseous. The sound of the table popping back into place made me nauseous. The head gear and the strange ball-like weights some have to hang from their heads like the torture of some sinister dungeon master of the 16th century made me nauseous. The chiropractor himself made me nauseous. (Ok, to be fair, it wasn't really HIM as a person who made me nauseous, just the thought of someone doing the pushing and the popping and the twisting and the cracking *shudder*). Friends, it was truly the whole package. But now, now I have the "Make the noise! I live for the noise..." mentality. Yes, Tuesday through Thursday is like the new Friday through Sunday for me, a second weekend of sorts...well, really only at night...for the hour I'm sat on until my back sounds like a bag of popcorn mid-frenzy in the microwave. It. Is. SPECTACULAR.

Anyone who knows me can tell you I'm a really sweet, loving, kind, generous, honest, open person (and only a few of those people are at gunpoint, I swear). But, as my husband aptly (evidently) puts it, I can come off as a grade A bitch to those who don't know me. It's not that I don't like people. It's partly that I can be painfully shy. It's mostly that I'm perhaps grossly overcautious when it comes to new people. I can't help that I was born with the 6th sense of being able to judge a person's character accurately from my first interaction with them. As a result, I tend to be a little more quiet so that I can take everything in from the start....their interaction with me, their interaction with people I know/care about, their interaction with coworkers, their interaction with others I don't know. I watch how they carry themselves, how they speak, what words they choose, how they're dressed, how they take care of their appearance (or don't...ew!). I make mental notes of whether they make eye contact when talking with me or look anywhere else. I watch to see where they look when I ask them questions, whether they're accessing, remembering, lying or truly stumped. I'm a scrutinizer...all for the sake of making sure that the people I let in to my life and the lives of my family members are truly people of quality. Drama kings and queens need not apply.

So my husband's chiropractor....oh poor Dr. Travis! I'm quite sure he didn't know what he was in for when he and his techs suggested he bring me and the boys in for the Luau they were throwing. I was skeptical....and shocked. I didn't analyze the techs much. They passed the basics, so that was good enough for me. But I'm sure Dr. Travis felt like he was getting a lesson in "Wenches 101." Between the Luau and the analysis appointment, I think he got hit with the full on course. Like a champ he handled every question with impeccable "bed-side" manner. He was kind, gentle, and out-going with me from the start. I noticed the same to be true for my family members and other patients. And he's a happy person! That's not to say he doesn't have his rough days...I'm sure he does...who doesn't? But he's just so genuinely happy and it's so nice to interact with people like that. I've spent 7 long years surrounded by so many negative people! Yuck! He and his office are a breath of fresh air. They're this brilliant beam of sunshine that makes my day better, no matter what else has happened. He seems to have a healthy relationship with his techs....obviously still the clinic director, but without any sense of being an overbearing authoritarian...definitely one of those bosses that everyone hopes to have. He carries himself with importance and self-respect without belittling those around him. That's the first time I've met a doctor like that. Major, m-a-j-o-r points. He's articulate, speaks intelligently and has mastered the dying art of patience. He'll explain the same thing eight times over, all in different ways, if you need him to, without ever making you feel inferior. I'm not sure I can say much about his dress...work requires scrubs of sorts...so I suppose the jury is in deliberation due to lack of evidence, but compared to everything else, that's not as much of a factor. I suppose in the category of appearance it'll just have to be a pass/fail. I don't feel like it's that hard for guys to look kept up, but then again I don't have to shave my face every day. So he'll get a pass. Zach says he works out...bonus for being a doctor who's actually interested in being healthy himself -- I've met some fat, alcoholic smokers that call themselves doctors and, um, yeah, no thanks...and I read online that he pulled a fire truck for the grand opening of his office?!?!?! WHAT?! Yeah, I'm still processing that one too. I think he's the first person I've ever met that makes eye contact 99.9% of the time when he's talking to me. If he failed the rest I could almost overlook it all just for this one long lost quality! I can probably count on one hand the few times he's accessed/remembered (told by eyes) when talking with me. Pretty. Freaking. Impressive.

My husband knows, understands and appreciates my ability to read people so easily and quickly and trusts my instincts, so naturally he's told me several times that if I don't get a good feeling we can find someone else. I can honestly say that I've never had more confidence in a doctor's abilities. Sure, my instinct tells me that he was probably a frat boy party type in his 20's, but he has the look, attitude, social skills, etc. of someone who's been through different experiences in life, has become the better for it all and has settled into his best self.

So you may be asking yourself...did he pass? Did he pass?? DID HE PASS?!?!

Yes.

BUT, that's not to say that I didn't cringe the first time I was asked to lie down on the table...how could I not? A stranger who's a good 6 inches taller than me and looks like he could have bench pressed the fire truck he pulled was going to move my booooooones! *whimper* Whatever he did to my lower back felt like heaven. Yes, please, I'd like some more. Pressing on my neck? Eh, bearable. But the BEST, the creme de la creme is hugging the towel and being slowly lowered until my spine explodes like a roll of black cats. Ahhhhhhh! Not only does it feel exquisite, but it's one of the few times when I don't feel so grossly overweight...because I tell myself, if the man can haul a fire truck, I surely must feel like a butterfly in comparison! HA! (I don't want ANYONE commenting and bursting my bubble about that...you hear me?!) ;) The last adjustments, when he cranks my neck around 180 degrees in the attempt to bring me closer to my owl ancestors I could definitely live without...but if he thinks it's necessary, I'll learn to hoot and hunt mice too. In the end though, I'm happy. So happy, in fact, that little does he know, but when we move back to St. Louis next year, I will be packing him in my suitcase and setting him up in an office in our basement so that we don't have to find someone else. Either that, or we'll be spending a ridiculous amount of money traveling back up to his area for adjustments.

I'm quite sure I'll have more on the subject...each appointment seems to lend itself to new anecdotes, but for now, it's time to grab my first real meal of the day before collapsing out of exhaustion (on my back or side...not my stomach...*sob*).

P.S. Dr. Travis, if for some reason you come across this....I'm sorry about the course in "Wenches 101"...I promise I'm really not like that...ask any of my friends, and just ignore any click that sounds like a gun being cocked ;)


Monday, August 16, 2010

Just Another Manic Monday

What is it about Mondays exactly? I'm sure they get a bad rap most of the time, but I'm also certain today deserved it. Just an endless rat race today. I got up early this morning (5:40am), and I don't think I've really sat down to rest since. My husband wonders why I don't eat better...or at all really. I swear there's no time! Did I mention I spent 45 minutes at the local post waiting to mail stuff.

N-i-g-h-t-m-a-r-e!

A line out the door...only 2 people working, one of which was consumed helping a father and daughter apply for their passports...and the one woman actually helping the line was moving at the speed of zero. And then of course there was the token postal worker that popped out to the lobby area every 10 minutes or so to see if anyone was just picking up or dropping off post. I wanted to wing one of my packages at her head and tell her to open a freakin' check-out post! What is it with government workers taking their sweet tush time and acting put out about quality customer service?! YOU HAVE ONE OF THE EASIEST JOBS EVER AND YOU GET MORE TIME OFF THAN MOST CORPORATE HAMSTERS....EEK OUT A FREAKIN' SMILE! Enough ranting though. The day is finally done (minus the 3yr old in my bed leaving me naught but a sliver of mattress and pillow). Time to kick the little hobbit back upstairs and finally pass out.

Sunday, August 15, 2010

I'll Take a Side of "You've GOT to be KIDDING Me!" With That

O.
M.
G.

Seriously.

What. a. day.

We arrived at the Glen Ellyn venue promptly at 10:30am despite a late start. Nice place. Impressive. We wind our way through vendors to find our table. Ahhh, right between two other home based businesses...this should be interesting! Someone kindly enough left their ENORMOUS soda sitting on our table. I gave the ladies to the left of us the eye and questioned politely if it belonged to them. (Putting your affects on another's table before they arrive and while you're setting up is quite common.) Evidently it's the Glen Ellyn Ghost's because no one laid claim to it. So naturally, I set it on the floor off in a remote corner...only because there wasn't a trash can nearby. Set up was quick...me arranging and everyone else lending an eye. With half an hour to spare, another consultant and I walked to the nearest McDonalds (remind me why I do that to myself?!?! Ewwwww!) to grab a quick bite before endless hours of work with no break in sight until 6pm. I polished off my venti black and white and waited for the hoards. Prospect-wise, the event was great. Quality women from quality areas. The real "fun" came from the other tables we were sandwiched between. To the left, a candle company, slowly and slyly encroaching on our space. To the right, a jewelry company, not so slowly and definitely not slyly encroaching on our space and prospects. I was (luckily for everyone else) placed in the middle, otherwise I'd have had no problem exchanging words with Mr. Got Dragged to This By My Wife and Don't Know What I'm Doing or What It Means to Be Polite. Anyone who really knows me knows that I have a long fuse. But there are certain things that make me skip the fuse and hit the blast box and heaven help the person that trips that. I don't have a problem being brutally honest and calling people on blatant ignorance and lack of social skills. That's why I got put in the middle I suppose. But all in all, it was a success and we left jovial and ready to head out for a bit back in our neck of the woods while we went over the event together. By 7pm we were done eating and hashing and on our way home. Of course, I was on my way home to a husband who had to leave the moment I got there because our rental property flooded. FLOODED! There was no enormous rain. There had been no standing water. In fact, our house is the only one in the neighborhood that didn't take on water during the massive flooding in the fall of 2006. Yet FLOODED it evidently was. Modern. day. miracle. So, after a crazy day yesterday, and an exhaustingly long day today, I've been left to wrangle children solo (I don't blame my husband, just the tenant). And now that everyone's heading to bed I probably should too. It's hard being exhausted when you're a night owl...I'm so tired but still ready to stay up!

Don't Make Me Pull This Car Over!

Saturday was spectacular! Well, parts of it were at least. The drive down was fabulous...early morning driving is the best -- cool temps, beautiful sunrise...ahhhhhhhh! We made it down in just over 4hrs, and that was with stopping to sit down for breakfast :) We took the boys to play at the school playgrounds; we had brunch with relatives and toured their G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S (and enormous) new home; we set up home base with them; I had a great party with fabulous friends. And then. THEN came the drive home. We got off much later than expected...it was almost 9pm. But, the boys were fed (even if we weren't), we had the DVD player, and they were exhausted having never taken their afternoon nap. Should have been an easy drive home. SHOULD being the operative word. Not 45mins in to the trip Kasch starts fussing.

I give him his blanket.
He screams and throws it.
I give him his lamby.
He screams and throws it.
I give him his sippy.
He screams and throws it.

Zelig wakes up. Ugh.

I try a movie. He's quiet for a bit. Zelig watches for a while and then puts his blanket over his head so he can fall back asleep.

Kasch screams.

Zelig wakes up and screams at Kasch to stop screaming.
Daddy yells at Zelig to stop screaming at Kasch and at Kasch to be quiet.
Kasch cries at 600 decibels.

Mommy secretly cries inside at all the crying and tiredness.

Kasch cries at 8 million decibels.

I look in the rearview mirror to see Zelig holding his teddy by the leg and winging it repeatedly at Kasch, beating him in the face with the raggedy teddy bear to get him to be quiet. I'm just about ready to drop all three boys off at the nearest rest area and drive home alone. It's times like these I would sell my soul for 2 weeks of adult time...without kids.

Zelig gets yelled at again. Now he's crying louder, and no one can tell what he's saying. After 10 minutes I can finally decipher that he'd like his blanket hooked into his "Oh sh!t" bar...why? Who knows. After the blanket is successfully hooked, he quiets down.

Kasch is S-T-I-L-L crying.

I have Z turn off the movie before I kill someone from sensory overload and have him put on a Baby Einstein dvd instead, hoping the classical music and minimalist sensory involvement (compared to Cars) will lull him to sleep. Mission accomplished. Unfortunately, operating on 3.5 hours of sleep also meant it was lulling me to sleep, so we switched driving and I promptly passed out...only to jerk awake and ask "are you ok?!" every time we went around a curve, thinking Z had fallen asleep.

We all made it home safely and unscathed...barely...by 1:30am. Bed couldn't come soon enough, although ironically I had difficulty falling asleep. And now, now I'm awake, again, after minimal sleep, trying to get energized for the long work day ahead. So for now I'm off....shower, suit, makeup, Target, Starbucks, make gift basket, gather bridal fair necessaries and back...in...the car *quiet sob* and off to Glen Ellyn...

Friday, August 13, 2010

And the beat goes on...on...on...on...

9:10pm...sleep you evade me...work you haunt me.

Diaper bag collected.
Product box organized.
Facial/color supplies ready.
Goodie bags...almost done...ahhh!
Laundry...um...laundry...laundry? 2. loads. left. (Yes, Michael Scott is ringing in my head as I type.)
Toy bag...well...it's there. On the floor. With some toys in it...some near it...some somewhere else. Just can't forget the DVDs and player.

In the kitchen, a heated political debate.

This, friends, is why I need a chiropractor. Forget any sports related injuries or accidents.

Ice cream. I need ice cream to clear my head.

This is called procrastination.

I shouldn't be doing this. I don't mean at all, just right now. It's 7:48pm on Friday night...the boys are in bed, the husband is ordering car parts and I'm.....blogging? Yes. What should I be doing tonight? Well, here's the laundry list...and apropos the list begins with...

1. laundry (2.5 loads down, 3.5 to go)
2. skin care/color party supplies cleaned and packed
3. goodie bags made
4. toy bag w/dvds and dvd player packed
5. diaper bag packed
6. extra clothing for the boys packed
7. swim suits packed
8. makeup packed (b/c frankly kids, we all know beauty's gonna need a little help at 4 in the morning)
9. dress clothes and choice of spicy shoes packed...hmmm...stilettos or red silk pumps???
10. FOLD ALL CLOTHES EVER OWNED BETWEEN THE 4 OF US...aka, the laundry
11. W-O-R-K O-U-T...buh-buh-buh-BOO-TAY! ughhhhhhhhhhhh :(

And last, but certainly not least...the ever important...sleep. Of course even that's a bit ruined now that I've been told I really shouldn't sleep on my stomach. WHAT?! You want me to change 29 years of perfect comfort and bliss? *sigh* more on that later.

The buzz of the washer and dryer calls...why can't anyone cute ever call? :-P