Sunday, August 15, 2010

Don't Make Me Pull This Car Over!

Saturday was spectacular! Well, parts of it were at least. The drive down was fabulous...early morning driving is the best -- cool temps, beautiful sunrise...ahhhhhhhh! We made it down in just over 4hrs, and that was with stopping to sit down for breakfast :) We took the boys to play at the school playgrounds; we had brunch with relatives and toured their G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S (and enormous) new home; we set up home base with them; I had a great party with fabulous friends. And then. THEN came the drive home. We got off much later than expected...it was almost 9pm. But, the boys were fed (even if we weren't), we had the DVD player, and they were exhausted having never taken their afternoon nap. Should have been an easy drive home. SHOULD being the operative word. Not 45mins in to the trip Kasch starts fussing.

I give him his blanket.
He screams and throws it.
I give him his lamby.
He screams and throws it.
I give him his sippy.
He screams and throws it.

Zelig wakes up. Ugh.

I try a movie. He's quiet for a bit. Zelig watches for a while and then puts his blanket over his head so he can fall back asleep.

Kasch screams.

Zelig wakes up and screams at Kasch to stop screaming.
Daddy yells at Zelig to stop screaming at Kasch and at Kasch to be quiet.
Kasch cries at 600 decibels.

Mommy secretly cries inside at all the crying and tiredness.

Kasch cries at 8 million decibels.

I look in the rearview mirror to see Zelig holding his teddy by the leg and winging it repeatedly at Kasch, beating him in the face with the raggedy teddy bear to get him to be quiet. I'm just about ready to drop all three boys off at the nearest rest area and drive home alone. It's times like these I would sell my soul for 2 weeks of adult time...without kids.

Zelig gets yelled at again. Now he's crying louder, and no one can tell what he's saying. After 10 minutes I can finally decipher that he'd like his blanket hooked into his "Oh sh!t" bar...why? Who knows. After the blanket is successfully hooked, he quiets down.

Kasch is S-T-I-L-L crying.

I have Z turn off the movie before I kill someone from sensory overload and have him put on a Baby Einstein dvd instead, hoping the classical music and minimalist sensory involvement (compared to Cars) will lull him to sleep. Mission accomplished. Unfortunately, operating on 3.5 hours of sleep also meant it was lulling me to sleep, so we switched driving and I promptly passed out...only to jerk awake and ask "are you ok?!" every time we went around a curve, thinking Z had fallen asleep.

We all made it home safely and unscathed...barely...by 1:30am. Bed couldn't come soon enough, although ironically I had difficulty falling asleep. And now, now I'm awake, again, after minimal sleep, trying to get energized for the long work day ahead. So for now I'm off....shower, suit, makeup, Target, Starbucks, make gift basket, gather bridal fair necessaries and back...in...the car *quiet sob* and off to Glen Ellyn...

No comments:

Post a Comment