Friday, March 30, 2012

Class vs Ass

Ok, we all do it. To say we don't would be a lie. But in this girl's opinion, it's all about with whom you CHOOSE to do it. Before you let your mind get too far into the gutter, I'm talking about kissing and telling. My best friend knows more about me than pretty much EVERYONE I know, but that's the nature of the beast. That's the POINT of having a best friend. They're someone you can share ANYTHING and EVERYTHING with, and you know they'll still accept you. They know every glorious brag-worthy escapade, and every ugly, embarrassing, dirty little secret. These are things I understand. I think most, if not all, people need someone they feel they can confide in for any and everything...a place of safety and devoid of judgement. What I don't understand are the people who kiss and tell to anyone who has ears...heartbeat optional. We've been acquaintances for a while. You've decided to re-label us as friends, although let's be honest, nothing has changed between us because of that...but I'll save that for another post. Why, of all people, would you 1) feel it's appropriate to tell me about your new girlfriend losing her virginity to you or 2) think I care? I know nothing about her, except for what she looks like, the few superficial things you've raved about in relation to her, and that she LOOKS sweet and abso-freakin'-lutely adorable. And, albeit I could be completely wrong, she also looks like the type of girl who would be mortified to discover her boyfriend divulging that information to anyone...much less a female friend, especially a new one. I can only think of a few reason why anyone would choose to do something like that, and they are as follows:

1) they're classless braggers

2) they want you to understand that they're serious about this person

3) they want to find out your reaction (for whatever reason)

4) they're looking for attention because they have low self-confidence

In this particular case, I'm sure each of the above is true to some extent. So, let me respond to each:

1) Grow up. Women don't like classless men. It's not attractive. If you want to get married again, you might want to consider this.

2) I get that you're serious about her. I also get that you're infatuate with her. And if you end up hurting her again, even though we barely know each other, you will hear from me about it. That's the nature of the beast buddy.

3) My reaction is...I don't care. You're an adult. She's an adult. You can make adult decisions together. My infatuation has long since ended as there's too much about you that I just have neither the time nor desire with which to deal. Doesn't mean I don't still think you're a phenomenal person; I just see you for who you really are now. No more pedestal. No more pit.

4) It is evident for more reasons than the most recent bragging that you have low self-confidence. Take a second. Look at yourself in the mirror. You're gorgeous, head to toe. Accept it. Appreciate it. Take a second. Look around your house and in your garage. You have everything you want in terms of a home and belongings. Accept it. Appreciate it. Take a second. Look at your occupation. You're living your occupational dream, achieving your goals, touching and changing lives, making a difference in your practice, your community, your city, your state, your country, your world. You are living your dreams as they currently are. Accept it. Appreciate it. And, since I know you're still feeling like you lack some self-confidence after that: break it down, see how it serves you and others. Accept it. Appreciate it.

That's it from the soap box this morning kids. Remember, the difference between CLASS and ASS is Conscious Living (or Loving).

No comments:

Post a Comment